The Micius Quantum Prizes 2019 are awarded to the field of quantum communication. The laureates are Charles Bennett, Gilles Brassard, Artur Ekert, and Stephen Wiesner, for their inventions of quantum cryptography, and Jian-Wei Pan and Anton Zeilinger for their groundbreaking experiments that enabled practically secure and large-scale quantum communications.
Press release in English.

    Theory category

  • Stephen Wiesner

    For his original conceptual idea on conjugate coding that inspired the discovery of practical quantum cryptography

  • Charles H. Bennett  &  Gilles Brassard

    For their inventions of quantum key distribution, quantum teleportation, and entanglement purification

  • Artur Ekert

    For his inventions of entanglement-based quantum key distribution, entanglement swapping, and entanglement purification

  • Experimental category

  • Jian-Wei Pan  &   Anton Zeilinger

    For their groundbreaking experiments in multi-photon interferometry and free-space quantum transmission that enabled practically secure and large-scale quantum communications