The Micius Quantum Prizes 2018 are awarded to the field of quantum computation. The laureates are Ignacio Cirac, David Deutsch, Peter Shor, and Peter Zoller, for their seminal theoretical work on quantum algorithms and physical architectures of quantum computers and simulators, and Rainer Blatt and David Wineland for their pioneering experiments that demonstrated fundamental elements of quantum computing with trapped ions.
Press release in English.

    Theory category

  • David Deutsch

    For his seminal conceptual contributions on quantum Turing machine and quantum algorithms

  • Peter Shor

    For his groundbreaking theoretical work on factoring algorithm and quantum error correction

  • Juan Ignacio Cirac  &   Peter Zoller

    For their outstanding theoretical contributions that enabled the scalable implementations of quantum information processing such as quantum computation with trapped ions, quantum simulation with ultracold atoms, and quantum repeaters

  • Experimental category

  • Rainer Blatt

    For his pioneering experimental work on the realizations of quantum logic gates, multiparticle entanglement, quantum simulation, and quantum computing algorithms using trapped ions

  • David J. Wineland

    For his groundbreaking experiments that opened the way to quantum computing and quantum metrology with trapped ions